The Orwell Prizes 2023 Shortlists

May 12, 2023
Dimitris Passas

NOTE: This article is a republication- Source: Waterstones.

Named in honour of the pioneering political journalist and prophetic novelist George Orwell, the Orwell Prizes are Britain’s premier award for political writing in both fiction and non-fiction.

This year’s Political Writing shortlist ranges from a penetrating first-hand account of the Russian invasion of Ukraine to a searing study of British colonial abuse in the 1960s. Meanwhile, the Political Fiction shortlist boasts eight powerful novels, including Eleanor Catton’s brilliantly biting eco-thriller Birnam Wood and Diana Evans’ magisterial exploration of home, belonging and the state of modern Britain A House for Alice.

The winners will be revealed on Thursday 22 June.

Click here to read the lists

Join the Discussion