Jon Fosse Wins 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature

Oct 8, 2023
Dimitris Passas

NOTE: This article is a republication- Source: Publishers Weekly (by Sophia Stewart).

Norwegian author and dramatist Jon Fosse has won the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature for "his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable." He is the fourth Norwegian author to win the prize, following the novelist Sigrid Undset, who won in 1928.

Anders Olsson, chairman of the Nobel Committee at the Swedish Academy, the body that administers the prize, said of Fosse that, "in his radical reduction of language and dramatic action, he expresses the most powerful human emotions of anxiety and powerlessness in the simplest everyday terms. It is through this ability to evoke man’s loss of orientation, and how this paradoxically can provide access to a deeper experience close to divinity, that he has come to be regarded as a major innovator in contemporary theater."

Fosse was born in 1959, in Haugesund, on Norway's west coast. "His immense œuvre written in Nynorsk and spanning a variety of genres," Olsson said, "consists of a wealth of plays, novels, poetry collections, essays, children’s books and translations." Fosse's dramatic breakthrough, Olsson continued, came with Claude Régy’s 1999 Paris production of his 1996 play Nokon kjem til å komme (Someone Is Going to Come). He is one of Norway's most-performed dramatists.

You can read the full article here

Join the Discussion