Announcing the Translation Prizes 2023 shortlists

Dec 1, 2023
Dimitris Passas

NOTE: This article is a republication- Source: The Society of Authors.

The Society of Authors has announced eight shortlists for its annual Translation Prizes.

Sharing a total prize fund worth £28,000, the winners – including the inaugural winner of the Great Britain Sasakawa Foundation Translation Prize – will be celebrated at a ceremony on Wednesday 7 February 2024. We are grateful for our continued collaboration with the British Library, who will be hosting the event at their Knowledge Centre.

The shortlist for the Great Britain Sasakawa Foundation Translation Prize – which is awarded for translations into English of full–length Japanese–language works – is praised by judge Maya Jaggi for ‘[showcasing] a variety of ingenious approaches to translation – from the faithfully “foreign” to the more creatively free.’

The new prize will be awarded alongside seven others, including the Bernard Shaw Prize and Goethe–Institut Award, which are both awarded biennially.

Ten languages are represented across the prizes, with English translations from Vietnamese and Danish featured on the TA First Translation Prize shortlist.

You can read the full article here

Join the Discussion