Ruben Östlund to preside over 76th Cannes Film Festival jury

Mar 2, 2023
Dimitris Passas

NOTE: This article is a republication- Source: Nordisk Film & TV Fond (by Annika Pham).

Östlund will be the third two-time Palme d’or winner to head the Cannes Jury after Francis Ford Coppola and Emir Kusturica, and first Swedish writer/director ever to take this honour.

It will also be the first time ever that a Palme d’or winner becomes President of the Cannes Jury the year after receiving the coveted award.

Östlund won last year’s Palme d’or for his satire Triangle of Sadness, five years after scooping the top Cannes award for The Square.

By inviting Östlund to preside over the Jury, the Cannes Film Festival said they wished “to pay tribute to films that are uncompromising and forthright and which constantly demand that viewers challenge themselves and that art continue to invent itself."

"I am happy, proud, and humbled to be trusted with the honour of Jury president for year's year’s Competition at the Festival de Cannes,” said Öslund in a statement. “Nowhere in the film world is the anticipation as strong as when the curtain rises on the films in Competition at the festival. It is a privilege to be part of it, together with the Cannes audience of connoisseurs.

I am sincere when I say that cinema culture is in its most important period ever. The cinema has a unique aspect. There, we watch together, and it demands more on what is shown and increases the intensity of the experience. It makes us reflect in a different way than when we dopamine scroll in front of the individual screens.”

To read the full article click here

Join the Discussion